Josh vs. Google: The Beginning

So here I am, two weeks into my battle against Google. I’m trying my hand at niche website building/marketing and this blog will serve as a record of what I’m doing, how I’m doing, what’s working, and what’s not.

My site to this point has gone through a few major changes but now sits at #6 on Google (broad search) & #1 on Google (exact search). If you’re not sure what the difference in the two are, don’t worry, it’s not a big deal…actually, it is kind of a big deal. But don’t worry, I’ll explain that and everything else I’ve learned and will continue to learn along the way, including:

  • Why did I decide to try niche website marketing?
  • Exactly how big is the learning curve?
  • I want to try it….now what? Finding your keyword(s).
  • Helpful resources, no 30 minute YouTube videos (I promise).
  • How to work with Google to beat Google.
  • Submitting your site to other search engines.
  • Social Bookmarking is a waste of time…maybe.
  • Backlinks: What does Google want to see?
  • Backlinks: Quick Tips that work.
  • Who sends me the most traffic, so far?
  • WordPress plugins: What worked & what didn’t.
  • WordPress plugins: How do I set this up?
  • Site content that matters.
  • Great tools to check you site with, all FREE!
  • Keep an eye on your site with helpful iPhone apps, all FREE too!
Leave a Reply

